St. Bernard Fire Officials Celebrate the Grand Opening of Fire Station #3

St. Bernard Parish President David E. Peralta, Fire Chief Thomas Stone and other local, state and federal officials officially cut the r…ibbon of Fire Station No. 3 on Thursday, April 18th at 9240 W. Judge Perez Drive in Chalmette.  In attendance for the ribbon cutting were Sheriff James Pohlmann, Assessor Jaylynn Bergeron Turner, Councilman Casey Hunnicutt, Chamber President Jerry Calcagno and Chamber members Fred Sigur and Cindi Meyer.

Fire Chief Thomas Stone said this is the 8th fire station rebuilt since Hurricane Katrina.  The department is currently operating out of nine stations with the 10th station waiting for repairs. Chief Stone said this station will allow his department to better protect the citizens of St. Bernard Parish.

Eddie Williams with FEMA, congratulated the parish and said “FEMA is honored to work closely with St. Bernard on important projects such as this.

President Peralta thanked all of the partners that came together to complete this project, including FEMA, the Governor’s Office of Homeland Security (GOHSEP), Ryan Gootee General Contractors, LLC., Chasse Marshall Architects, St. Bernard Parish Recovery Manager Donny Bourgeois and the Recovery staff, Doug Landry, CDMSmith Senior Recovery Administrator; Stacey Danner, CDMSmith Project Management Firm, and Gil Carlin, St. Bernard Parish Government Project Manager.